Statement of Faith
Map and Directions
- Church History
Presbyterian Church was organized in 1824 when Concord Presbytery
granted a petition to form a new church. There were approximately 20
members at the time of organization, most of them moving membership
from Centre Presbyterian Church. By 1866 enrollment had grown to 384
and Prospect had become the largest church in Concord Presbytery, now
known as Salem Presbytery.
original church was a log structure which was replaced with a large
frame sanctuary in the late 1850ís. The present brick structure, which
will seat more than 400 people, was completed in 1951. For over a
hundred years Prospect shared a minister with other churches in the
area, but in 1927, Reverend James Douglas Deans was installed as
Prospectís first full-time pastor.
enjoys a rich heritage. Presbytery met here in 1835 and adopted the
resolution to establish Davidson College. Also in 1885, Augustus
Leazer, an elder and member of the North Carolina legislature,
introduced a bill that established North Carolina State University. In
1954 Prospect was named Rural Church of the South and was the scene in
1956 of the first message from a Christian church recorded for
broadcast by the Voice of America to countries throughout the world.